The Challenge Begins

March 31, 2012 — Leave a comment

Soon it will be April. That means it will be Script Frenzy time! If you don’t know what that is, here is the basic gist:

It’s basically a writing challenge organized by the same folks behind NaNoWriMo but focused on scriptwriting. It’s not a contest but a way to help keep you on track when writing. No one will look at your work because you basically scramble the words before you upload it to a page counting  bot. You meet the 100 page quota and then, you win. Overall, it’s basically working with an honor system. Yes, you can cheat but why would you do that?

Script Frenzy (or Screnzy) will be the perfect thing for me to get back into the groove. You should try it too, if you’re into the scriptwriting thing.

I think I will blog about my writing process over the next 30 days. I might even throw in some links to songs or articles to help inspire other people like you, the lovely reader.

The story I will be working on isn’t relatively new. It’s a combination of an unfinished play and a small town thriller piece. I might even throw in some unexpected absurd moments. We will see when the characters take form. I haven’t really outlined the thing but I have it semi-outlined in my head. I sort of hate outlining things out in detail. It sort of a buzz kill for me. Plus, I got enough sense to know that if this scene is a piece of shit, I’m going to cut it.

I just hope I end up with a decent first draft that I can work with in the second/third draft stages.

Side note: If I haven’t written this before, I will write it again. I’m one of those delusional romantic writers. I like the image of sitting down at my computer/typewriter and write from start to finish. Note that I only sit down to write after weeks/months/years of thinking about the story. I think of it and then I let it go… let the idea or story disappear into my subconscious. Then when I’m ready, I’ll try to piece it back together and see if it improved or not. Sure, you can lose stories that way, so I normally jot notes down or write descriptions or even rough scenes. These I call “story seeds”. They are not complete but have enough punch to intrigue me.

If you do decided to challenge yourself with Screnzy, I wish you good luck on your journey. But before I leave, allow me to tease you with what I will be working on. I will use the shitty “______ meets ______” technique but on a cracked up scale: it’s like Grosse Pointe Blank meets Blood Simple meets Blue Velvet meets Death at a Funeral (UK) meets After Hours meets The Last House on the Left meets The Graduate

Am I teasing or just f___ing crazy meets f___ing insane

ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY
ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES JACK A DULL BOY… 

Until next time.

Cheers.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

