Daily Quota: 1 Movie. 10 Burpees. 1000 Words.

November 13, 2011 — Leave a comment

One of my goals I have been trying to keep up with is watching movies on a regular basis. I have a friend who tries to follow François Truffaut’s regiment of three movies a day and three books a week. I’m not so sure about the books part but he has been keeping fairly well with the two to three books a day part. Though, like most people, time plays a big factor in how much you can watch so it may range from two ninety minute pictures to one that runs over two hours.

Two months ago I was big on television. It was something I wasn’t normally use to but I had that urge to dive headlong into multiple series at a weekly basis. Fast forward to now, I’m barely watching three series a week. I think most of these shows have become a disappointment. To counter balance this void, I’ve been slowly cranking up my movie watching diet again. It’s not as consistent as I want it to be, but I’m working at one movie a day now. If time permits, I may go for two movies a day but that’s only if I got the attention span for it. It’s tough these days because I have studies to keep up with too.

In the middle of everything, I need to do some exercise. I’m naturally lazy. I hate to admit it but I am. Last month I was able to hit the treadmill at a good pace. Now, it’s struggle with my energy levels. Which is strange because I barely do enough work for school and for my scripts. Therefore, I’m going to adopt the classic exercise technique that prisoners live by:  burpees. It’s like combo of a push-up, squat, jumping, lunge(?) and even a bit of planking(?!). Anyway, doing them in decreasing reps is a killer. You do ten. Rest. Nine. Rest. And so on.

Lastly, I have to get daily writing back into my life.  The Beatles’ song, “Got to Get You into My Life” just popped into my head. About five years ago when I was discovering the joy of writing, I was obsessed. I wrote and wrote. I imitated other writers even though I was such a shitty reader. Then I came across Stephen King’s quota thing about writing 2000 words a day. Of course that’s insanely hard to do right off the bat, so it was recommended for beginners to start at 500 words – 1000 words. So that will be my quest. The only trouble I will have is the kind of things I want to write. I think I spend so much time trying to figure out what to write than actually writing. Do I write a bit on my screenplay? If yes, shouldn’t I work on the treatment/outline for it? Or should I free write? Will it be a short story or a reflection? I think the reflection part will okay since I’m practically doing that here on this blog.

Anyway, that’s what I’m aiming for to better myself as a film lover and aspiring storyteller. My only challenge is to make this into a routine. They say it takes six weeks to make or break a habit.

Will I achieve these goals? Will this blog die by then?

Stay tune.

Cheers.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

